Marriage License Process
Verify that you meet all of the
Apply for a license by
contacting the Emery County Clerk/Auditor's office.
(Applications are not available on line as per law
1. Pay Application
Copies of License: $5.00
2. Provide the
names, including the maiden name of the female.
Security Numbers, unless the applicant has not been assigned a
place of birth (town or city, county, state or county, if possible)
respective parents, including maiden name of mother.
Birthplaces of father and mother (state or country)
*The Social Security numbers obtained will not be
recorded on the marriage license, and are not open to inspection as
part of the vital statistics files. The Department of Health,
Bureau of Vital Records, and Health Statistics shall upon request,
supply those Social Security Numbers to the Office of Recovery
Services within the Department of Human Services. The Office
of Recovery Services may not use any Social Security numbers
obtained under the authority of this requirement for any reason
other than the administration of child support services.
3. Provide One
Form of Identification
Acceptable forms include driver's license, birth
certificate, or passport.
4. Provide Proof
of Legal Age (18 yrs +)*
Acceptable forms of proof include valid driver's
license, birth certificate, or passport.
under 18 years of age may apply for a marriage license if all
requirements are met including the following additional
parent or legal guardian must be present to sign consent.
authorization to marry must be provided by a juvenile judge of
the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction in the county where
either party to the marriage resides. The written
authorization must also be obtained from a court commissioner as
permitted by rule of the Judicial Council. Contact the
Clerk/Auditor office for a form.
Applicants under 14 years of age cannot obtain a marriage
license under Utah law.
(Section 30-1-9 Marriage by Minors)
are valid for 30 days from date of issue and may be used within the
State of Utah.